Thing 16 digital Tatoo

Standard

I reviewed Common Sense curriculum for k-2. Although I could use the initial video “going Places Online” with k-2 students,  the 15 question assessment is more appropriate for my 1st and 2nd graders and would have to be done on the smartboard as a group with my 1st graders since the language skills required is pretty high. Although I would love to review the second lesson using alphabetical order with kindergarteners, I don’t have a printer in the library so it would make the activity difficult to complete. Loved the Keep it Private lesson mainly because it introduces them to new/safe online game sites Scholastic and Lego especially. It’s somewhat confusing that Common Sense specifically includes parent’s address as something private and NOT to be shared and then Lego site requests this same information. A little confusing. Probably the teacher should clarify that parents should be asked before email information is provided. I’ve already decided to include unit 1 K-2 in my upcoming lessons.

I think digital citizenship is more easily taught in primary and intermediate grades. By the time my students have reached 6th grade, they’ve already been exposed to a myriad of inappropriate material and most of the teaching material is too “cheesy” (their word not mine) and easily ridiculed. They don’t even see their own gossiping behavior as bullying. I have been keeping an eye on “Internet ruined my Life” TV show as a possible teaching tool. Many of my students know Catfish the TV show and comment on how incredible it is that these individuals lie to such a great extent and that profiles cannot be believed. Although I don’t condone 11 year olds watching Catfish, it does allow for a lively discussion about healthy skepticism and how people choose to present themselves.

I’ve been collecting articles wherein there are actual consequences for inappropriate behavior. Students suspended for a year for posting bullying video Most of the time, felony charges are dropped, but extended school suspensions and death threats to families of cyberbullies is commonly reported. I am trying to build a “reality check” lesson for my 6th graders but still remain mindful of sensitive subject matter. It’s still a work in progress.

I have used the cyberbullying questionnaire from http://www.stopcyberbullying.org and had my students complete it anonymously. Most of my 4th and 5th graders will score well but there is always a handful of students who fall in the cyberbully realm and not so ironically admit it freely and even boastfully. Again, the questionnaire provides a lively and very animated discussion about online behavior and how to respond to it. Conclusion: this is an ongoing discussion. The laws are not definitive and the pushback is on the school systems to institute policies to safeguard against cyberbullying. I am currently taking DASA training but even that fall short of definitive guidelines. It’s imperative that teachers keep abreast of new cases and legal outcomes.

One thought on “Thing 16 digital Tatoo

Leave a Reply

