Thing 11 Coding Club update

Standard

I have 18 4th to 6th graders in my coding club. I am teaching the Course 2 curriculum and despite that it is very well-designed it took me two days (one hour each) to get through the first lesson, graph paper programming. Students were definitely challenged when trying to draw someone else’s code but they finally got it. I will use the graph paper assessment before moving on. We just had a week off so I will ease into the work week by going straight to the Angry Birds Maze and skipping the paper airplane section.

I strongly recommend teachers offering this curriculum to their students. It teaches students logic, communication, and systemic thinking all while having fun and playing games.

One thought on “Thing 11 Coding Club update

Leave a Reply

