Hour of Code Part 2

Standard

I am happy to report that Hour of Code was a big hit with my students! I used it as a library center during that hard to focus month of December. Since I was a certified level 20 zombie killer I was able to legitimately challenge my students! My first graders and some of my second graders used the arrow version of Angry Birds and third to sixth used the written version. They all thought it was tremendous fun and felt great satisfaction when they progressed to a new level. A few of my sixth graders did not have the patience to figure out the steps but one usually very quiet boy got to level 16 in one 40 minute class! I said to him, “Wow! That’s really good, you must be good in math because you obviously have a very logical and methodical mind.” His smile was priceless. I would definitely repeat as a center and will consider a coding club sometime in the future. In other words, it no longer intimidates me and it felt good to introduce a “difficult” task in such an entertaining way. It also gave me the opportunity to teach my students to walk away and take a break when at an impasse. Very teachable moment.

Leave a Reply

